Museum logo

Archive Record

  • Email This Page
  • Send Feedback
Title Minutes of the meetings of the Chamber of Commerce 1923-1924
Object Name Minutes
Scope & Content Minutes of the meetings of the Fernandina Chamber of Commerce
March 7th 1923 to Dec 30th 1924.
E. W. Bailey was secretary; A. D. Simon and H. J. Baker listed as presidents. Many board member names also listed. Attendance at the meetings was approximately 21 members. Meetings were held at the Keystone Hotel, Miramar Club, Rex Theatre, E. W. Bailey's office, Gerbings. This minute book includes Chamber of Commerce clipping of the organization's sending a sympathy telegram to Mrs. Warren Harding (on the death of President Harding) and Mrs. Harding's reply.
Items discussed: improvement of Fernandina Harbor, drafting of constitution and by-laws, opposition to discontinuance of Fernandina-Jacksonville passenger service.
Standing committees: Rivers, harbors and canals; Highways and transportation; Improvements, immigration and agriculture; Co-operation, education and entertainment; Fisheries and game; Finances; Legislation, statistics, taxation.
Catalog Number 1990.020.005
Collection AIMH
Accession number 1990.020
Caption Meeting Minutes for Chamber of Comm
Number of images 7
People Kelly, P. C. (Mayor)
Stanley, W. L. (Vice pres. SALRR)
Simon, A. D. (Pres.)
Bailey, E. W. (Sec.)
Allan, A. S.
Haile, W. T.
Ground, D. H.
Morse, E. F.
Kennard, S. J.
Sahlman, H. F.
Roux, E. J.
Borden, N. B.
Anderson, L. W.
Search Terms Seaboard Airline Railroad
Fernandina Harbor
Keystone Hotel
Miramar Club
Rex Theatre
Subjects Chambers of commerce
Classification Business & Commerce